Mandeep stayed on course for a title at Youth women’s National Championship

Delhi’s Harsh Lakra in the Men’s light heavy (81 kg) weight and Riya Tokas in Women’s bantam (51-54kg) weight qualify for the finals

Red - Mandeep Kaur(Pun) Blue - Rajbala (CHT)     Red - Sakshi(HAR)  Blue - (Ojibala Devi(MAN) (1)

New Delhi, Jan 21: Former World junior champion Mandeep Kaur is just one step away from her title as the Punjab pugilist notched up a win over Chattisgarh’s Rajbala in feather weight division(54-57kg) at the Youth women’s National Championship here today. The 16-year-old from Chakkar Village, who had won two golds in 52 kg category at the 2015 Women’s World Junior Boxing Championship in Chinese Taipei, was adjudged the winner in an unanimous decision here. She will face Haryana’s Sakshi, who defeated Manipur’s Ojibala Devi in another encounter.

In women’s light fly (45-48kg), Haryana boxer Jyothi and Madhya Pradesh’s Anjali Sharma notched up a 5-0 win over their respective opponents Delhi’s Tanvi Kaushal and Punjab’s Babita Rani to enter the finals.

In women’s fly (48-51kg) category, Haryana’s Akta blanked Himachal Pradesh’s Maya Kumari 5-0 to set up a clash with Assam’s Joy Kumari Lama, who eked out a 3-2 win over MP’s Mani Singh Gaur in another thrilling clash.

In women’s bantam (51-54kg) weight, Delhi pugilist Riya Tokas prevailed 4-1 over Mizoram’s Palian Lalnunfeli and she will lock horns with Haryana’s Parveen, who defeated MP’s Deepa Kumari 4-1 in another semifinals match.

In women’s light (57-60kg) weight category, Mizoram’s Vanlalhriatpuii defeated Assam’s Ankushita Boro to reach the finals here.

In the Youth men’s National championship, Chandigarh’s Ansul Punia thrashed Sahil Shah of Himachal Pradesh 5-0, while Barun Singh of SSCB blanked Tamil Nadu’s B Ramakrishanan 5-0 to set up a summit clash in light fly weight (46-49kg).

In fly weight (52kg), SSCB’s Ch Wilson Singh edged past Uttar Pradesh’s Sudeep K Yadav 3-2, while Gurpreet Singh of Punjab also notched up a similar 3-2 win over Manipur’s Moirangthem R Singh to reach the finals.

In bantam weight (56kg), SSCB’s MD Etash Khan beat Mizoram’s Laldingliana 5-0 to set up a final fight with Uttarakhand’s Pawan Gurung, who trounced Haryana’s Rahul Dhanda 4-1 in another semifinal contest.

In light (60kg) weight, Punjab’s Gurpinder Singh and SSCB’s Ankit emerged victories over Bihar’s Manish Kumar and HP’s Suresh and the two will battle for the title tomorrow.

In light welter (64kg) weight, Akash of SSCB was adjudged the unanimous winner against Uttarakhand’s Deenu Thapa.