Young boxers show their mettle on day 2 of Youth Nationals


New Delhi, Jan 17: Young Indian pugilists showcased their skills to reach the second round in another eventful day at the Youth Men’s and Women’s National Boxing Championship here today.

In men’s light fly division, Tamil Nadu’s B Ramakrishnan defeated Haryana’s Nishat Dev 4-1, Punjab’s Shubham edged out Manipur’s Poonam M Singh 3-2, while SSCB’s Barun Singh thrashed Orissa’s Santosh Bhoi 5-0.

Among others, Suraj Soy of Jharkhand, AK Rashanzamir of Goa and Uttarakhand’s Suraj Singh Mazila also emerged victories in the opening round.

In men’s fly weight, Punjab’s Gurpreet Singh blanked Karambir Bharti 5-0, Himachal Pradesh’s Ashish Kumar trounced Nagaland’s Koyyana Sivakumar 5-0, while Uttarakhand’s Pawan Kumar eked out a 3-2 win over Jharkhand’s Pawan Kumar.

Akshaya Nayak of Orissa and Kogam Potom of Arunachal Pradesh also reached the next round.

In men’s light weight, Vishal Sharma of Chandigarh and Md Fejan of Gujarat blanked Gopal Naik of Goa and Ajit Vinod of Kerela 5-0 respectively. HP’s Suresh and West Bengal’s Pradeep Ghimire saw off Mizoram’s C Vanlalhriatkima and Nagaland’s Thengam Khaimnungam 3-2 respectively.

Among others, Manipur’s Myson Moirangthem defeated Haryana’s Amandeep Singh 4-1, while Ariz Ahmad Khan and MP’s A Pradeep Singha also were adjudged unanimous winners. SSCB’s Ankit also reached the second round by beating Bhuvan Sharma of Rajasthan.

In men’s lightwelter weight, Manipur’s P Brighter Singh, J&K’s Vinod Bhardwaj and Sajin Sati of Kerela also reached the next round. Daman and Diu’s Yogesh Kumar and Telagana’s Ch Kishor and HP’s Pankaj Kumar blanked their respective opponents 5-0 to enter the second round.

Aniket Rai of Chattisgarh defeated Orissa’s Subhrata Pradhan 4-1 in another match.

In men’s welter weight, Delhi’s Abhilash and UP’s Dinesh Yadav defeated L Donoi Meitei of Manipur and Ashish Dalakoti respectively by an identical margin of 4-1. West Bengal’s Saroj Basnet and Tamil Nadu’s G Durai Manigandan blanked Kerela’s Sidharth Saju and Assam’s Tonmoy Dowarah respectively 5-0.

Among others, Parveen Kumar, Rahil Siddique and Bilal Ahmed also reached the next round.

In women’s light fly, Punjab’s Babita Rani beat Kerela’s Atulyas Das 3-2, while UP’s Pragati and Chandigarh’s Sheetal also emerged winners in unanimous decisions. Nikita Lohar also emerged victories.

In women’s flyweight, MP’s Mani Singh Gaur and Anu Singh of UP
defeated Diya Kailas Bache of Maharashtra and Indra Singh of Chattisgarh respectively 4-1, while Rajasthan’s Nidhi Dhaka beat Chandigarh’s Parul 5-0 and Punjab’s Kamaljeet Kaur also emerged winner against Barsa Jena of Orissa.