1st Youth National Boxing Championship 2016-2017

Commencing with a ring of a bell on 16th January, 2017, the 1st Youth National Boxing Championship opening ceremony was held at Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium New Delhi, which is the largest indoor stadium in India and third largest in Asia. The Stadium was also declared the best stadium during the 2010 Common Wealth Games. Equipped with a seating capacity of 150000, the Stadium offers platform for various sporting events as well as other non-sporting events.


The championship, hosted by the Boxing Federation of India, witnessed 237 male and 178 female boxers eyeing for top honors. The weigh-in and medicals of the players was done at the Karnail Singh Stadium while the bouts were fought at Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium in 3 rings constructed specifically for the championship. The greatest array of Indian youth boxing talent in 10 weight divisions, fought to win the coveted Youth Championship.


This is the third successful event being hosted by the newly formed Boxing Federation of India within a span of four months with an aim to give the much needed due recognition to the sport. The event kick started with much fanfare and Shri Ajay Singh, President, Boxing Federation of India declared the championship opened.


A total of 32 teams from various states across the country participated in the championship. Overall 80 medal winners comprising of 40 each from the male and female categories were awarded from the 10 weight categories. A prize money of Rs 20,000 were given to the gold medalists, Rs 12,000 for silver and Rs 7,000 for the two bronze medalists respectively.

Notable personalities like Sh. AK Mattoo, former Ex President of Indian Amateur Boxing Federation, Sh. S.M Hashmi, President Indian Kayaking & Canoeing Association and veteran Actor Mr. Tom Alter attended the event and encouraged the young pugilists participating at the championship.

1st-youth-2016-17-3     1st-youth-2016-17-4


After 6 days of thrilling competitions, the finals were held on the 22nd January. There were two medal ceremonies, the first of which was held after the first 5 final bouts. The final medal ceremony was held after the last 5 final bouts. The chief guests for the final ceremony were Shri Rajeev Mehta, Secy General Indian Olympic Association and Shri Ramesh Bidhuri, Member of Parliament who joined in awarding the medals as well as the championship trophies to the winners.

1st-youth-2016-17-6     1st-youth-2016-17-7

SSCB produced the best results in the men’s nationals, winning 9 medals, including 4 golds and 4 silvers and a bronze medal, while Haryana was placed second with 2 gold, 1 silver and 2 bronze and Delhi was in the third spot with a gold, and 2 bronze medals.


In women’s championship, Haryana achieved the top spot with 6 golds and 3 silvers, while Punjab was in the second place with 1 gold, 2 silver and 4 bronze and Uttar Pradesh was third with 1 gold and 1 bronze.


Harsh Lakra from Delhi won the Best Boxer in Men’s while Sakshi from Haryana won the Best Boxer in Women’s category. Former World Junior Champion Mandeep Kaur Punjab won the Best Challenger Trophy and Vanlalhiriatpuii from Mizoram won the Most Promising Trophy.

1st-youth-2016-17-10     1st-youth-2016-17-11

1st-youth-2016-17-12     1st-youth-2016-17-13

The 7 days championship came to an end with Sh. Jay Kowli, Secy General of Boxing Federation of India declaring the closing of 1st Youth (Men’s & Women’s) National Boxing Championship on 22 January, 2017.




Weight category Date Medal Name Team code
Women light fly (45-48kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Jyothi Har
Silver Anjali sharma Mp
Bronze Tanvi kaushal Del
Bronze Babita rani Pun
Women fly (48-51kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Ekta Pun
Silver Joy kumari Asm
Bronze Maya kumari Hp
Bronze Mani singh gaur Mp
Women bantam (51-54kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Parveen Har
Silver Palian lalnunfeli Miz
Bronze Deepa kumari Mp
Bronze Riya tokas Del
Women feather (54-57kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Sakshi Har
Silver Mandeep kaur Pun
Bronze Ojibala devi Man
Bronze Rajbala Cht
Women light (57-60kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Vanlalhriatpuii Miz
Silver Jony Har
Bronze Ankushita boro Asm
Bronze Tolitama chanu Man
Women light welter (60-64kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Nisha Har
Silver Lalita Raj
Bronze Rupinder kaur Pun
Bronze Vaishavi prabu Goa
Women welter (64-69kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Astha pahwa Up
Silver Rupa rani Hp
Bronze Arnpreet kaur Pun
Bronze Rojita devi Man
Women middle (69-75kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Avneet kaur Pun
Silver Sapna Har
Bronze Prayanjali roday Up
Bronze Niharika g Tel
Women light heavy (75-81kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Anupama Har
Silver Parveen kaur Pun
Bronze Shayaan pathan Mah
Bronze Nandini Chd
Women heavy (81+kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Megha m mathew Ker
Silver Neha Har
Bronze Nagamika g Tel
Bronze Rupinder kaur Pun



Weight Category Date Medal Name Team Code
Light Fly (46-49kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Barun Singh SSCB
Silver Ansul Punia Chd
Bronze B Ramakrishanan Tn
Bronze Sahil Shah Hp
Fly (52kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Ch Wilson Singh SSCB
Silver Gupreet Singh Pun
Bronze Sudeep K Yadav Up
Bronze Moirangthem R Singh Man
Bantam (56kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Md Etash Khan SSCB
Silver Pawan Gurung Utk
Bronze Laldingliana Miz
Bronze Rahul Dhanda Har
Light (60kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Ankit Sscb
Silver Gurpinder Singh Pun
Bronze Suresh Hp
Bronze Manish Kumar Bih
Light Welter (64kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold P Brighter Singh Man
Silver Akash SSCB
Bronze Yogesh Kumar Asm
Bronze Deenu Thapa Man
Welter (69kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Naveena Boora Har
Silver Parveen Kumar SSCB
Bronze Arshdeep Singh Pun
Bronze Abhilash Del
Middle (75kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Karan Har
Silver Sachin SSCB
Bronze Gaurav Dabas Del
Bronze Adiya Lambh Raj
Light heavy (81kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Harsh Lakra Del
Silver Ashish Har
Bronze Deepak Juglan Mp
Bronze Shaqib Khan Mah
Heavy (91kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Sawan Gill Chd
Silver Himmat Singh SSCB
Bronze Kapil Pokhariya Utk
Bronze Mohit Har
Super Heavy (91+kg) Sun 22 Jan Gold Harshpreet saharwat Up
Silver Akhil Punia Raj
Bronze Raghav Sharma SSCB
Bronze Tenzingtseda Bhutia Nag


List of members in the teams:

S. No State name Male boxer Female boxers Manager Coach Total
1 Arunachal Amateur Boxing Association 5 2 1 2 10
2 A P Boxing Association 10 10 2 2 24
3 Maharashtra Boxing Association 10 10 5 2 27
4 Boxing Association of Bihar 6 3 1 2 12
5 Mizoram Boxing Association 6 5 1 3 15
6 Haryana State Boxing Association 10 10 1 4 25
7 Assam Amateur Boxing Federation 5 5 2 2 14
8 Rajasthan Boxing Association 10 8 2 20
9 Services Sports Control Board 11 1 7 19
10 Jharkhand Boxing Association 4 3 1 2 10
11 Madhya Pradesh Amateur Boxing Association 10 9 19
12 Nagaland Amateur Boxing Association 7 3 1 2 13
13 Uttarakhand Boxing Association 9 7 2 4 22
14 Boxing Association of Punjab 10 10 1 4 25
15 Daman & Diu Boxing Association 4 1 2 1 8
16 Uttar Pradesh Boxing Association 10 8 3 1 22
17 Karnataka Boxing Association 7 2 1 4 14
18 Bengal Amateur Boxing Federation 7 5 12
19 Chandigarh Amateur Boxing Federation 10 5 1 3 19
20 Orissa amateur Boxing Association 6 5 1 2 14
21 Goa Amateur Boxing Association 6 4 3 13
22 Manipur Amateur Boxing Association 6 11 1 1 19
23 Gujrat State Amateur Boxing Association 5 4 2 1 12
24 Telangana Boxing Association 12 9 1 3 25
25 Dadar & Nagar Haveli Boxing Association 1 1
26 Sikkim Amateur Boxing Association 4 2 1 7
27 Tamil Nadu 10 10 1 4 25
28 Himachel Pradesh 9 6 1 3 19
29 Jammu & Kashmir 4 3 1 2 10
30 Chattishgarh 6 3 1 1 11
31 Delhi 10 8 2 4 24
32 Kerala 7 7 1 1 16
Total 237 178 41 70 526